Hello everyone! Thank you to everyone who has recently told me that you find my blog helpful and worth reading. It takes a great deal of mental energy for me to write a decent blog post, and I’ve recently been avoiding blogging because of the investment and time it takes. But it’s encouraging to hear that many of you are finding it valuable. I hope I can take some time to write out a lot of the thoughts I have running around in my mind recently about church ministry, especially in an Asian American context.

I’m cautious but hopeful about the state of the Asian American church. There’s a unique and legitimate place in the kingdom of God for the ethnic-specific ministry.

Yes, there are a lot of issues that make ministry challenging in an Asian church in America. Many of them are not unique to the ethnic-specific church. The ones that are unique are often the other side of the coin when it comes to advantages of this church approach.

For now, I leave you with some previous posts that might spark a conversation:

The Baby and the Bathwater…Blaming the ethnic specific model

English Congregation: “Just an older version of youth ministry”

Asian-American Ministry Needs: Reflection from the English Ministry Pastors’ Fellowship

