I’ve always enjoyed singing hymns. There’s something very special about singing the words and tunes that saints have sung for hundreds, or even thousands of years. I’m glad that many churches who have more contemporary music into their church services have also incorporated hymns, albeit “remixed” hymns.

What I enjoy most about hymns is reading the lyrics. Sometimes I feel like nobody writes lyrics like these anymore. Full of profound insights about God and the Christian experience, yet deep with emotion and reverence. Here are some of my favorite lines:

I’m so glad I learned to trust Thee,
Precious Jesus, Savior, Friend;
And I know that Thou art with me,
Wilt be with me to the end.

O that old rugged cross, so despised by the world,
has a wondrous attraction for me;
for the dear Lamb of God left his glory above,
to bear it to dark Calvary.

Thou changest not, Thy compassions, they fail not;
As Thou hast been, Thou forever will be.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control:
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
Prone to leave the God I love;
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
Seal it for Thy courts above.

