Sometimes I get a feeling that the person I’m talking to or interacting with is racist. I feel like I’m being judged by them and they treat me differently just because of the way I look. Sometimes I receive this from merchants or store employees, or from people on the street, or even from (shudder) seminary classmates.

I can’t call them out, of course, because they haven’t said or done anything racist, but I just get this bad vibe. And the feeling is specifically about my ethnicity.

I find myself trying to be someone else, perhaps trying to be more white around such a person. I watch my grammar more carefully, expecting them to add to their already warped stereotype about Asians being terrible at English or something.

Perhaps I overreact. I’m not sure. But definitely worth noting.

